Without Your Word

I wrote this hymn after a friend of mine fell away.  I had written her a letter begging her to reconsider and to read her Bible.  This hymn grew from the thoughts in my letter. 

 

Without Your Word

 

Without Your Word, there is no faith

no understanding of Your way.

The faith of man could never save

without Your Word.

Without Your Word, there is no hope,

no pressing on to higher goals,

the hope of man grows dim and cold

without Your Word.

 

Oh Lord, Your law is my delight,

my meditation day and night,

there is no wisdom, truth or light,

without Your Word.

 

Without Your Word, there is no love,

no reason to give myself up,

the love of man is not enough

without Your Word.

Without Your Word, there is no peace,

no cornerstone of unity,

the peace of man is incomplete

without Your Word.

 

Oh Lord, Your law is my delight,

my meditation day and night,

there is no wisdom, truth or light,

without Your Word.

 

~ Janice Trees, 2008

Leave a Reply

