Kings & Camels

Reading: 2 Chronicles 26: 14-21

“Jacob, I must have your help,” said Jacob’s grandmother. “My eyes are simply too weak to thread my needle, and I need to sew this button onto your shirt.”

Jacob went to his grandmother and threaded the needle for her. In return, she gave him a hug and her thanks. “Now, Jacob, do you think you could put a camel through the eye of my needle?”

Jacob laughed, “Oh no, Grandmother! Not even a toy camel from my Noah’s ark set can go through your little needle!”

“That’s right,” said his grandmother. “Jesus said that it is as difficult for a rich man to enter heaven as it is for a camel to go through the eye of a needle.”

“Why did Jesus say it would be that hard?” asked Jacob.

“Well, I believe it is because a rich person would have a harder time trusting in God. When a person gains and owns many things, he is more likely to trust in himself. You remember the lesson of King Uzziah, who had a great army and many weapons. He became so sure of himself that he thought he should be a priest also. He thought he should be allowed to enter the temple and offer sacrifices. But do you remember what happened to him when he did this evil thing?”

Jacob nodded. “God made Him very sick.”

“Yes. And in the end, Uzziah lost all those wonderful things he had as a king. He should have been thankful to God for his blessings, and used them to obey God, instead of being so proud and disobeying God’s law.”

Jacob looked at the little needle in his grandmother’s hand as it flew in and out of the button on his shirt. “Grandmother, how can a camel go through the eye of a needle?”

“It’s impossible, my child. But with God, all things are possible. And if a man trusts in God instead of his riches, then he can enter the kingdom of heaven, just as easily as you threaded this little needle for me.”

Give me neither poverty nor riches;

Feed me with the food that is my portion,

Lest I be full and deny Thee and say,”Who is the Lord?”

Or lest I be in want and steal, And profane the name of my God.

~ Proverbs 30:8-9

 

For Further Study:

  • The Bible has many warnings against honoring ourselves instead of God and others. Read Proverbs 11:12, 16:18, and 25:6-7; also Matthew 23:12. Compare these with the description of Christ from Philippians 2:5-8.

 

  • Why did Azariah thrust Uzziah out of the temple after seeing his leprosy? Do some research into what the Scripture said about leprosy, both in the Old Testament and the New.
