God is with His People

Reading: 2 Chronicles 7:11-18

“I am very glad that today is the Lord’s day,” said Lily, “for I will see Julie today at church.”

Lily’s mother considered this while smoothing the little girl’s hair with a brush. Then after the last ringlet was subdued, Mother asked, “Well Lily, what if Julie were not at church today? Would you be glad to be going to church?”

“Well, of course I would be glad to be there with you, Mama,” said Lily with a smile, “but you know Julie is my cousin and my special friend besides.”

Mother hugged her, and then asked, “When you are at worship, singing songs and praying, do you think anyone notices you, Lily?”

Lily thought about this a moment. “I believe God must hear me. But I don’t know…. there are so many people at the worship, Mama. My voice is not very strong.”

Her mother smiled. “Well, Lily, God said that His eyes, ears, and heart are with His people. He comes to His people when they worship, and He notices each and every one of them. When Solomon built the great big temple for God, God said He would live there. But today, God calls the church His temple. He lives with His church just as surely and happily as you live in this house of ours.”

Lily looked around at her bedroom, at her drawings on the walls, her dolls lined up on the bed, and the sunshine slanting in through her window and making a pattern on the floor. “Mama, I do love this house. I love my bedroom.”

“Yes, child, you love it because it belongs to you and it contains all things you love. That’s how God feels about His people, the church.”

For we are the temple of the living God;
Just as God said,
“I will dwell in them and walk in among them;
And I will be their God, and they shall be My people.”
2 Corinthians 6:16

For Further Study:

  • Read 1 Corinthians 6:12-20. God calls each of us His temple. Our bodies belong to Him. It is wrong for us to say “It’s my life” or “it’s my body, I can do whatever I want.” Although God gave us lots of freedom, He also gives us commandments, wisdom, and plain common sense to know what is good for ourselves. Remember that we belong to Him ~ we should be showing Him to others, and we should bring glory to Him. After all, that is what will save the precious souls of this world. What we want, what’s “in style,” and what others do are constantly changing. But God’s commandments about good behavior, modest appearance, and serving others have never changed. We will spend time in other lessons looking at those specific commandments; for now, just keep in mind these thoughts from Corinthians:
    1 Corinthians 6:12-13 ~ Not everything that “looks good” or “tastes good” is helpful for us. Thinking about what makes me feel good or look good is not spiritual thinking; it is fleshly thinking. We do not want our flesh to be our master.
    Verses 13-17 ~ We have to think about the choices we make because we do not belong to this world. We want to belong to God. The person who has been baptized into Christ has joined Christ and should try to have the same mind as Christ’s
    Verse 18 ~ We have to protect our body, because decisions about our body can affect our soul.
    Verses 19-20 ~ We are precious to God
Posted in Church, Loves children, Worship. Comments Off on God is with His People
