Self-Control

Reading: 1 Kings 21:1-16

Jezebel was a wicked queen. In this story, she knows that her husband Ahab is jealous for Naboth’s vineyard. She wants to make him feel better. She does this by having Naboth killed! Later on, the prophet Elijah says that God will punish both of them (you can read about their deaths in 2 Kings).

In the book of Revelation, the Lord tells John that there is an evil woman in the church who is a false prophetess, teaching the Christians to commit sin and worship idols (Revelation 2:20-23). The Lord doesn’t give the woman’s real name, but He says she is a Jezebel!

We can be like Jezebel too:

  • When we’re willing to sin to make someone happy.
  • When we teach others to do evil.
  • When we don’t teach the Word of God correctly.
  • When we trust our feelings and emotions instead of trying to find out what is truly right.

Sometimes it’s very easy to be guided by our feelings instead of stepping back, being careful, and looking at things the way God wants us to. Part of growing up and being wise means learning to control our feelings and not using our influence on others to get things for ourselves. Pray to God that you can learn to do this as you get older and learn more from His Word. Pray to God that you can learn to use all your strength and knowledge to serve Him and others.

MY DAILY CREED

Let me be a little kinder,
Let me be a little blinder
To the faults of those about me;
Let me praise a little more;
Let me be, when I am weary,
Just a little bit more cherry;
Let me serve a little better
Those that I am striving for.

Let me be a little braver
When temptation bids me waver;
Let me strive a little harder
To be all that I should be;
Let me be a little meeker
With the brother that is weaker;
Let me think more of my neighbor
And a little less of me.

~ Author Unknown

For Further Study:

  • Self-control is one of the fruits of the Spirit (Galatians 5:23). Read the other fruits of the Spirit that are listed in Galatians. Can you think of how being able to control ourselves is related to having kindness, gentleness, peace, and the other fruits mentioned here? If we can control ourselves, then even when we’re scared, angry, or sad, we can think about others more and what they need, instead of what we want. It’s something that takes a lot of time, practice, and prayer. Here are some Bible verses about self-control (and what happens when you don’t have any): Proverbs 16:32; Romans 1:28-32 and 13:13; James 3:8-12
Posted in Anger, Hope, Humility/Pride, Kindness, Love, Patience. Comments Off on Self-Control
